If R3 is on third and a batter makes contact with the catcher during a swing, what occurs?

Prepare for the High School Baseball Umpire Exam. Get ready for the test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions featuring hints and explanations. Ace your umpire exam!

When a batter makes contact with the catcher during a swing with R3 on third base, the proper action is for the plate umpire to call "time." This is because the interaction between the batter and the catcher does not result in a legal play and could be considered interference or a cessation of play.

The plate umpire is responsible for ensuring that the game proceeds in an orderly manner, and when a batter's swing causes contact with the catcher, it disrupts the process. By calling time, the umpire is indicating that the play is halted, which is essential for maintaining the flow of the game and the safety of the players involved.

The other options would not apply in this scenario: the pitch does not count as a ball, R3 is not immediately out unless specific circumstances of interference are determined, and the batter is not automatically awarded first base unless the contact meets specific criteria for interference that justifies such a ruling. Calling time is the appropriate response to ensure that all parties have a clear understanding of the situation before play resumes.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy