What is the correct ruling when B1's batted ball strikes the ground and then accidentally contacts the barrel of his bat while in the batter's box?

Prepare for the High School Baseball Umpire Exam. Get ready for the test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions featuring hints and explanations. Ace your umpire exam!

When B1's batted ball strikes the ground and then inadvertently makes contact with the barrel of his bat while he is still in the batter's box, it is ruled as a foul ball. In this situation, the ball has already been established as a batted ball that has hit the ground before making contact with the bat again. When a ball that has touched the ground subsequently hits the bat, it cannot be considered a playable ball, and the ruling is thus a foul.

For context, if the ball had not struck the ground first and contacted the bat directly, it would generally be considered a fair ball or a potential hit, depending on its trajectory. However, in this case, since the ground has been involved, the rule dictates that it is a foul ball, leading to the correct ruling.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy