What is the outcome when R1 is thrown out at home after B5 hits a line drive and misses a base?

Prepare for the High School Baseball Umpire Exam. Get ready for the test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions featuring hints and explanations. Ace your umpire exam!

In this scenario, when R1 is thrown out at home after B5 hits a line drive and misses a base, the key point to consider is the missing base appeal. According to the rules of baseball, a runner must touch all bases in order to be considered for scoring. If a base is missed, the defense can appeal the play, which would result in the runner being called out for missing that base.

Since B5 missed a base, this creates a situation where R1's attempt to score becomes irrelevant, as the run does not count if the defense appeals the missed base. This means that the action taken by the defense in appealing the missed base leads to the ruling that no runs can score—regardless of the outcome of R1's play at home. The emphasis here is on the importance of running the bases correctly and adhering to the rules concerning base running for a run to be valid.

In summary, the correct outcome is that no runs are scored due to the appeal for the missed base, solidifying the rationale behind the chosen answer.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy