What is the outcome when F2's mitt touches the bat during a swing and R3 is thrown out at the plate?

Prepare for the High School Baseball Umpire Exam. Get ready for the test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions featuring hints and explanations. Ace your umpire exam!

The situation described involves a scenario where the catcher (F2) interferes with the batter's swing by having their mitt make contact with the bat. According to the rules of baseball, this constitutes catcher’s obstruction. When catcher’s obstruction occurs, the batter is granted certain privileges, primarily to protect their ability to swing freely.

In this case, since R3 was thrown out at the plate, the proper enforcement of the rule would dictate that R3 is returned to third base due to the obstruction. The rules aim to uphold fair play by ensuring that the catcher cannot impede the batter's attempt to hit the ball. Therefore, the enforcement of the obstruction allows R3 to return, making it the correct outcome in this scenario.

This scenario showcases the importance of understanding the implications of obstruction and how it can affect the outcome of a play, specifically regarding base runners and the batter's rights during their turn at bat.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy