What is the ruling if the third-base coach grabs the runner rounding third base?

Prepare for the High School Baseball Umpire Exam. Get ready for the test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions featuring hints and explanations. Ace your umpire exam!

In baseball, if a coach intentionally grabs a runner as they are rounding third base, this action constitutes interference with the play. The key point here is that a coach is not permitted to make physical contact with a runner in a way that affects their progress. In this situation, the runner is declared out because the interference has prevented them from running freely.

The ruling emphasizes the importance of maintaining the integrity of the game and ensuring that players can run the bases without unwanted interference. This rule holds even if the contact made by the coach does not appear to be aggressive or intentional; the mere act of grabbing the runner is sufficient for the umpire to declare the runner out. The ball remains in play after this ruling, which is important as it affects how the defense can play the ball and the subsequent actions on the field.

The other options do not reflect the established rules regarding coach interference and the proper response to such a violation.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy