What is the ruling when a batter bunts a ball foul with less than two outs and a 3-2 count?

Prepare for the High School Baseball Umpire Exam. Get ready for the test with flashcards and multiple-choice questions featuring hints and explanations. Ace your umpire exam!

When a batter bunts the ball foul with less than two outs and a 3-2 count, the ruling is that the batter is declared out. This occurs because the batter has already reached the maximum number of strikes allowed, which is three. A foul tip does not count as a fourth strike unless it is caught, which is not the case here since the ball is simply bunted foul.

As a result, the play concludes with the batter out, and any baserunner, such as the one at second base (R1), remains at their respective base. This ensures that the offensive team's strategy is impacted when trying to advance runners, as they suffer a loss of the batter without any base advancement resulting from the foul bunt.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy